البحوث: شرب الشاي الأخضر يمكن تخفيف الاكتئاب

Published: Sunday 15 October, 2017

وقال باحثون يابانيون ان كبار السن الذين يشربون عدة اكواب من الشاي الاخضر يوميا يقل احتمال تعرضهم للاكتئاب، وربما يرجع ذلك الى وجود مادة كيميائية "حسنة" فى هذا النوع من الشاي.

وقد ربطت العديد من الدراسات شرب الشاي الاخضر لتخفيف المشاكل النفسية وكايجون نيو من كلية الدراسات العليا بجامعة توهوكو وزملاؤه وجدوا ان اشخاصا تتراوح اعمارهم بين 70 و كبار السن الذين شربوا اربعة او اكثر من الكؤوس من الشاي الاخضر يوميا اقل عرضة للاكتئاب بنسبة 44 فى المائة.

ويستهلك الشاي الأخضر على نطاق واسع في العديد من البلدان الآسيوية، بما في ذلك الصين واليابان. قام فريق نيو بتحقيق 1،058 من الرجال والنساء المسنين نسبيا. وذكرت الدراسة التى نشرت فى المجلة الامريكية للتغذية الاكلينيكية ان حوالى 34 فى المائة من الرجال و 39 فى المائة من النساء يعانين من أعراض الاكتئاب.

وقال 488 مشاركا انهم شربوا اربعة او اكثر من الكؤوس من الشاي الاخضر يوميا، وقال 284 انهم اسقطوا 2-3 أكواب يوميا، والباقى ذكرت وجود واحد أو أقل من الكؤوس يوميا.

ووفقا للباحثين، فإن التأثير الواضح لشرب المزيد من الشاي الأخضر على تخفيف أعراض الاكتئاب لم تتلاشى بعد أن أخذت في الاعتبار في الوضع الاجتماعي والاقتصادي والجنس والنظام الغذائي وتاريخ المشاكل الطبية واستخدام مضادات الاكتئاب.

لم يكن هناك ارتباط بين استهلاك الشاي الأسود أو الصيني الاسود، أو القهوة، وانخفاض أعراض الاكتئاب.

وقال نيو ان مكون الشاي الاخضر، وهو ثيانين الاحماض الامينية، الذى يعتقد انه له تأثير هائل على الدماغ، قد يفسر "التأثير المفيد المحتمل" الذى اظهرته الدراسة الحالية، مضيفا ان هناك حاجة الى مزيد من الدراسة.

Research: Drink green tea can relieve depression

Published: Sunday 15 October, 2017

Elderly people who drink several cups of green tea a day are less likely to suffer from depression, probably due to a "feel good" chemical found in this type of tea, Japanese researchers said.

Several studies have linked drinking green tea to lessening psychological problems and Kaijun Niu, of Tohoku University Graduate School, and colleagues found people aged 70 and older who drank four or more cups of green tea daily were 44 percent less likely to experience depression.

Green tea is widely consumed in many Asian countries, including China and Japan. Niu's team investigated 1,058 relatively healthy elderly men and women. About 34 percent of the men and 39 percent of the women had symptoms of depression, according to the study that was published in the the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition.

A total of 488 participants said they drank four or more cups of green tea a day, 284 said they downed two to three cups daily and the rest reported having one or fewer cups daily.

According to the researchers, the apparent effect of drinking more green tea on alleviating symptoms of depression did not fade after they factored in social and economic status, gender, diet, history of medical problems and use of antidepressants.

There was no association between consumption of black or oolong tea, or coffee, and lower symptoms of depression.

A green tea component, the amino acid theanine, which is thought to have a tranquillising effect on the brain, may explain the "potentially beneficial effect" shown in the current study, Niu noted, adding that more study is needed.